LASCON 2008 – II Latin American School on Computational Neuroscience

Ribeirão Preto, SP, Brazil

July 13 — August 1 2008

The second edition of the Latin American School on Computational Neuroscience – LASCON II was held at the University of São Paulo, campus of Ribeirão Preto, São Paulo State, Brazil. The school was three weeks long and covered the following topics: biophysically detailed single neuron models; simplified neuron models; neural network models; synaptic plasticity and memory models; and biochemical modeling. These models were illustrated with the use of programs NEURON, GENESIS, neuroConstruct, XPP-AUTO and Matlab. The faculty was composed of an international team of world-renowned researchers in the field of computational neuroscience.


Antonio Roque (University of São Paulo, Ribeirão Preto, Brazil)

Local Organizers

Denise Arruda
Janaína Carvalho
Lucas Figueira
Diogo Porfírio
Rodrigo Publio
Julián Tejada
Guilherme Torres

Scientific Committee

David Beeman (University of Colorado at Boulder, CO, USA)

James Bower (University of Texas at San Antonio, TX, USA)

Osame Kinouchi (University of São Paulo, Ribeirão Preto, Brazil)

Rodrigo Oliveira (Krasnow Institute, George Mason University, Fairfax, VA, USA)

Reynaldo Pinto (University of São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil)

Antonio Roque (University of São Paulo, Ribeirão Preto, Brazil)


IBRO – International Brain Research Organization (IBRO Latin American Regional Committee)

CNPq – Conselho Nacional de Desenvolvimento Científico e Tecnológico

FAPESP – Fundação de Amparo à Pesquisa do Estado de São Paulo

USP – Universidade de São Paulo

Comments are closed.