LASCON aims at introducing advanced undergraduate and graduate students to the use of computational methods for modeling neurons and neural circuits. These methods will be illustrated with the use of programs like neuroConstruct, GENESIS, NEURON, XPPAUT and MATLAB. The faculty is composed of researchers with large experience in computational neuroscience and the use of these programs. The school will last for 24 days, and will consist of theoretical lectures and hands on tutorials given by the lecturers and computational exercises made by the students. Students also will have to work on individual research projects, which they will present orally at the end of the school.
The school will be held at the University of São Paulo, campus of Ribeirão Preto, São Paulo State, Brazil. Course applicants should be fluent in English (written/spoken) and have a solid background in life and/or hard sciences (some experience in computer programming is also desirable). Applications should be made electronically via the application form. Applicants are also requested to submit a detailed CV (in English) and to provide two letters of recommendation. The number of students is limited to 22 so that student selection will be competitive and based on the information provided. Costs for accommodation and meals will be covered by the school organization. In exceptional cases, limited funding could be made available to partly cover travel expenses.

University of São Paulo

Ribeirão Preto, SP, Brazil

January 17-February 9 2009


Antonio Roque
(University of São Paulo, Ribeirão Preto, Brazil)

André Luzardo
Denise Arruda
Lucas Baggio Figueira
Diogo Porfírio
Julián Tejada Herrera
Rafael Arantes
(University of São Paulo, Ribeirão Preto, Brazil)

James Bower (University of Texas, San Antonio, TX, USA)
David Beeman (University of Colorado, Boulder, CO, USA)
Osame Kinouchi (University of São Paulo, Ribeirão Preto, SP, Brazil)
Rodrigo Oliveira (Krasnow Institute, George Mason University, Fairfax, VA, USA)
Reynaldo Pinto (University of São Paulo, São Paulo, SP, Brazil)
Antonio Roque (University of São Paulo, Ribeirão Preto, SP, Brazil)


IBRO – International Brain Research Organization (IBRO Latin American Regional Committee)

CNPq – Conselho Nacional de Desenvolvimento Científico e Tecnológico

FAPESP – Fundação de Amparo à Pesquisa do Estado de São Paulo

USP – Universidade de São Paulo

Comments are closed.